15 November 2021

Turkey Ratifies the Kigali Agreement

The Republic of Turkey has become the 129th country to ratify the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol.

Turkey, alongside the other 128 countries that have ratified the amendment, have committed to cutting the production and consumption of HFCs (hydrofluorocarbons) by at least 80% over the next 30 years. The estimate is that the amendment will prevent up to 80 billion tonnes of CO2 equivalent emissions by 2050.

For the full list of countries that have ratified the Kigali Amendment, please visit the Cooling Post.