14 October 2021

Serbia Ratifies the Kigali Amendment

Serbia Ratifies Kigali Agreement

Serbia has become the 127th country to ratify the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol.

As Serbia is a developing country it operates under Article 5 of the Protocol. Serbia must establish its basic consumption from 2020 to 2022 and freeze their consumption to the level of basic consumption by 2024. They will continue to reduce their consumption until they have an 80% consumption reduction by 2045.

The Kigali Agreement aims for the phasedown of Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) through cutting the production and consumption of them. The amendment makes the Montreal Protocol an even more powerful instrument in protecting the environment from global warming.

For the full list of countries that have ratified the Kigali Amendment, please visit the Cooling Post.