Skip to content
AGAS - Together we can
Eritrea Ratifies the Kigali Amendment

The northeast African State of Eritrea to ratify the Kigali Amendment and phasedown the use of Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs).

Eritrea’s ratification of the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol brings the total number of countries that have ratified to 148. In ratifying the Amendment, Eritrea has committed to phasedown the consumption and production of HFC refrigerants by over 80% in the next 30 years.

It is hoped that the global implementation of the Kigali Amendment will prevent an estimated 80 billion tonnes equivalent emissions by 2050.

Click here to see the full list of countries that have ratified the Kigali Amendment.